Buscar este blog

sábado, 19 de noviembre de 2011

17 more colonies to go before the world is colony-free

Special Committee on Decolonization to Hold Regional Seminar on Eradication of Colonialism, in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, 31 May - 2 June

Note that Puerto Rico (PR) is not on the list of the16 colonies.  The UN removed PR from this list in 1953 based on the United States Government's claim that the "Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico" qualified as "Self Government" political status. 

The Committee is presently considering replacing Puerto Rico back on this list that it erroneously removed in 1953.  As you probably remember, a year later, a group of 4 Puerto Rico nationalists attacked the United States House of Representative (1954) to call attention to this deception.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario